BOARD OF EDUCATION Duncan E. Jaggers, Chairman Joey W. Powell, Vice-Chairman Bradley J. Abate Sharon M. Gainey Don R. Godfrey



Aaron L. Fleming, Ed. D., Superintendent W. Brooks Matthews, Ed. S., Deputy Superintendent C. Andrew Cox, Assistant Superintendent Brookie B. Ferguson, Assistant Superintendent Monica J. Thompson, Assistant Superintendent Jermaine H. White Ed. S., Assistant Superintendent P. O. Box 1029, Lillington, NC 27546 Phone: 910-893-8151 / Fax: 910-893-4279

August 18, 2023

VIA USPS First Class Mail and E-mail

Scott D. Dawson, Jr. Engineered Construction Company 900 Paverstone Drive, Suite 200 Raleigh, NC 27615

RE: Partial Occupancy of Johnsonville Elementary School Cafeteria

Dear Mr. Dawson:

Please consider this letter a notice to inform you that subject to the receipt of a temporary Certificate of Occupancy from the Harnett County Building Inspections Division, we intend to occupy a portion of the incomplete cafeteria at Johnsonville Elementary School. While we do not in any way consider the project as substantially complete, we plan to take partial occupancy pursuant to Article 9.10 of the General Conditions of the Contract for Construction no later than August 28, 2023.

Since most of the window glass in the cafeteria remains noncompliant with the contract documents, the school system will place a protective film on all the windows in order to reduce the risk of injury to students and staff in the event the windows break. Because the kitchen equipment has failed the county health inspection, access to the kitchen area will be blocked and prohibited. We expect you to achieve satisfactory solutions to the noncompliant window glass and the rejected kitchen equipment as soon as possible. In the meantime, liquidated damages will continue to accrue until the project is completed.

Please find enclosed a diagram showing the exact areas the school system intends to occupy for the purpose of serving lunch to students.

Sincerely,

Harnett County Schools

Ran L. Fler-

Dr. Aaron Fleming Superintendent

Enclosure

C: Steve Matthews (via e-mail only)

Brooks Matthews (via e-mail only) Tom Hughes, SfL+a (via e-mail only) Mahan Kick, SfL+a (via e-mail only) Melissa Lee (via e-mail only) James Schenck (via e-mail only)

Rod Malone (via e-mail only)

Sharon Lin (via e-mail only)